Caney Valley Speedway

  • 1
Welcome to Caney Valley Speedway Online!

Welcome to Caney Valley Speedway Online!

Racing Saturday Nights at 7PM!

Victory moves Moran into OCRS points lead


Oil Capital Racing Series

Victory moves Moran into OCRS points lead

John Rittenoure - CANEY, Kans. (October 8, 2022) - The race for the 2022 AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Car championship is set for a dramatic finish following Rees Moran’s start-to-finish run to victory Saturday at Caney Valley Speedway.

Trailing season-long points leader Blake Edwards by just 8 points after an 8th place finish on Friday, Moran roared off the pole Saturday and raced to his second victory of the season and grabbed the series points lead with one race remaining.

Moran now has a 12 point lead over Edwards with just on race remaining at Red Dirt Raceway next Saturday.

Moran was chased by Friday night winner Brandon Anderson most of the race until Alex Sewell passed him with two lap remaining. Anderson held on to third ahead of third in points, Terry Easum. Casey Wills finished fifth. Edwards finished 7th behind 6th place finisher Sheldon Barksdale.

The 2022 season comes to a close next Saturday at Red Dirt Raceway and a champion will be crowned. The three-way race is between Moran, Edwards and Easum who is 67 out of the lead.

AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Cars
Caney Valley Speedway - Caney, Kansas
October 8, 2022

AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 22M-Rees Moran[1]; 2. 8-Alex Sewell[4]; 3. 55B-Brandon Anderson[2]; 4. 88-Terry Easum[6]; 5. 31-Casey Wills[3]; 6. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[8]; 7. 17E-Blake Edwards[10]; 8. 55-Johnny Kent[16]; 9. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[13]; 10. 26M-Fred Mattox[18]; 11. 15-Jack Potter[9]; 12. 9H-Emilio Hoover[19]; 13. 5$-Danny Smith[11]; 14. 7F-Noah Harris[7]; 15. 38-Jimmy Forrester[15]; 16. 22T-Frank Taft[5]; 17. 5-Joe Bob Lee[12]; 18. FJB-Chad Frewaldt[17]; 19. 22C-Charlie Crumpton[14]; 20. 28P-Bradley Fezard[20]

B Main (12 Laps): 1. 38-Jimmy Forrester[4]; 2. 55-Johnny Kent[3]; 3. FJB-Chad Frewaldt[2]; 4. 26M-Fred Mattox[7]; 5. 9H-Emilio Hoover[11]; 6. 28P-Bradley Fezard[5]; 7. 22Z-Zach Campbell[6]; 8. 61A-Doug Fry[8]; 9. 30X-Larry Bratti[13]; 10. 9-Kevin Foreman[10]; 11. 12M-Mitchell Barros[1]; 12. 23A-Travis Ashwood[9]; 13. 29L-Lane Goodman[12]; 14. 77-Dean Drake Jr[14]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 88-Terry Easum[1]; 2. 15-Jack Potter[2]; 3. 5$-Danny Smith[3]; 4. 7F-Noah Harris[8]; 5. 22C-Charlie Crumpton[4]; 6. 55-Johnny Kent[6]; 7. 22Z-Zach Campbell[5]; 8. 61A-Doug Fry[7]; 9. 9H-Emilio Hoover[10]; 10. 30X-Larry Bratti[9]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 22T-Frank Taft[1]; 2. 8-Alex Sewell[5]; 3. 22M-Rees Moran[7]; 4. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[8]; 5. FJB-Chad Frewaldt[2]; 6. 38-Jimmy Forrester[4]; 7. 12M-Mitchell Barros[9]; 8. 9-Kevin Foreman[6]; 9. 77-Dean Drake Jr[3]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 31-Casey Wills[2]; 2. 55B-Brandon Anderson[6]; 3. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[1]; 4. 5-Joe Bob Lee[5]; 5. 17E-Blake Edwards[8]; 6. 28P-Bradley Fezard[3]; 7. 26M-Fred Mattox[4]; 8. 23A-Travis Ashwood[7]; 9. 29L-Lane Goodman[9]

Lap Leaders: Rees Moran 1-25?
Margin of victory: 0.268 seconds?
D&G Contracting Hard Charger: Johnny Kent +8

Top 10 Standings: 1. Rees Moran 1975; 2. Blake Edwards 1963; 3. Terry Easum 1908; 4. Sheldon Barksdale 1649; 5. Elizabeth Phillips 1368; 6. Whit Gastineau 1351; 7. Johnny Kent 1300; 8. Joe Bob Lee 1227; 9. Danny Smith 1166; 10. Fred Mattox 1137.

2022 Winners: 3/4 - Steven Shebester (Red Dirt Raceway); 3/5 - Tyler Drueke (Red Dirt Raceway); 3/19 - Blake Edwards (Creek County Speedway); 3/25 - John Carney II (Thunderbird Speedway); 3/26 - Tanner Conn (Lawton Speedway); 4/9 - Terry Easum (Oklahoma Sports Park); 4/23 - Johnny Kent (Creek County Speedway); 5/20 - Danny Smith (Tulsa Speedway); 5/21 - Steven Shebester (81 Speedway); 5/28 - Alex Sewell (Salina Highbanks Speedway); 6/24 - Tanner Conn (Red Dirt Raceway); 6/25 - Kyle Clark (Tri-State Speedway); 7/9 - Steven Shebester (Lawton Speedway); 7/22 - Whit Gastineau (Lake Ozark Speedway); 7/23 - Rees Moran (Lake Ozark Speedway); 9/23 - Terry Easum (Thunderbird Speedway); 9/24 - Whit Gastineau (Salina Highbanks Speedway); 10/1 - Hank Davis (Creek County Speedway); 10/7 - Brandon Anderson (Caney Valley Speedway); 10/8 - Rees Moran (Caney Valley Speedway).

About the AmeriFlex / OCRS Series -
Established in 2002, the Tulsa OK based AmeriFlex / OCRS series sanctions dirt track sprint car racing in the southern region of the central plains. Fan appeal and quality race teams, combined with our solid core of supporting sponsors are the nucleus of the series. Thrilling competition providing the ultimate quality family entertainment is the essence of what the AmeriFlex / OCRS series is all about.

About Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories -?Located in Tulsa OK, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories is a family owned and operated company. From food grade hose to hoses for the petroleum industry, Ameri-Flex will strive to fill your needs. AmeriFlex can build a hose to your specifications or we will assist you in creating what you have designed while you wait. Ameri-Flex has several hard to find items that some vendors can’t get or find. Product can be shipped quickly and efficiently. If we do not have what you are looking for, we will direct you on where to find it. Give us a try, after all…………..?AmeriFlex Has The Stuff That Keeps You Going!


AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Contingency Sponsors?AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories, Hoosier Racing Tires, Smileys Racing Products, Schoenfeld, Brodix, Lucas Oil, RacinDirt.TV, Schure Built Suspension, Lightning Wings & Powder Coating, Smith Titanium, MyRacePass.

Article Credit: John Rittenoure

Article Media

Back to News

Driver Registration

Driver Registration

Latest Photos

Caney Valley Speedway

Latest Videos

Lucas Oil ASCS Caney Valley Speedway June 25, 2020
Caney Valley Speedway 8-29-2020 Late Model heat race
Caney Valley Speedway Kyle Wiens #18 Sooner Limited Modified Series A-Feature 07/27/2019
Super Tight Racing At The Caney Valley Speedway!
caney valley speedway 2020
CJ Threads
Rock Auto
Speedway News
Tallgrass Motors